## **Media Release**

The Hon John Eren MP

Minister for Tourism & Major Events Minister for Sport Minister for Veterans



Wednesday, 3 February, 2016

# VICTORIAN STUDENTS CHOSEN FOR THE STUDY TOUR OF A LIFETIME

The Andrews Labor Government is sending more Victorian students than ever before on a study tour to Gallipoli and the Western Front.

Today, Minister for Veterans John Eren congratulated the students chosen to represent Victoria on the Premier's Spirit of Anzac Prize tour in March. They were selected after submitting projects that reflect what the Anzac spirit means today in a diverse and multicultural Australia.

All Victorian students should understand the sacrifice our veterans made and appreciate the decisive moments in our history. That's why the Labor Government has increased the study tour group from 12 to 22 places. They'll return home with stories to tell their classmates about Australia's wartime history, ensuring the legacy of our veterans is secure for younger generations to cherish.

They will be joined by three teachers, two veterans, a World War I tour historian and the Victorian Government Tour Leader, Member for St Albans Natalie Suleyman. Twenty students will also represent Victoria on a national study tour to Canberra, where they'll visit the Australian War Memorial.

The Premier's Spirit of Anzac Prize tour group will follow in the footsteps of our World War I veterans as they visit places of national significance at Lemnos, Gallipoli and the Western Front. The 2016 tour is a unique chance for Year 10 and 11 students to reflect on the spirit of the Australians who gave their lives for their country.

Entries for the 2017 study tour are now open. For details or to apply online, visit www.veterans.vic.gov.au

A full list of Premier's Spirit of Anzac Prize award winners is located on the next page.

#### Quotes attributable to Minister for Veterans, John Eren

"Our students are our future, and this year's Premier's Spirit of Anzac Prize winners are brilliant leaders among the community."

"This study tour gives a group of lucky students a chance to learn about the decisive moments in Australia's history, and then educate their classmates."

"We want all Victorian students to cherish the legacy of our Anzac veterans, because it's our duty to preserve their memories."

Media Contact: Patrick Lane 0437 884 010 | patrick.lane@minstaff.vic.gov.au

#### Premier's Spirit of Anzac Prize winners:

- Angela Frentiu Huntingtower School
- Laura Benney Ballarat High School
- Edwina Blachford Ballarat Christian College
- Angela Clancy Nagle College
- Imogen Coles Damascus College
- Ruby Cowan Star of the Sea College
- Molly Ewens Camberwell Girls' Grammar School
- Bailey Edwards Girton Grammar School
- Rasha Fayrooz Ali Lalor Secondary College
- Clare Freeman Lalor Secondary College
- Bridget Haley St Mary MacKillop College
- Tayha Malseed St Mary of the Angels College
- Alexandra Suddick Canterbury Girls' Secondary College
- Isis Tyler Lavalla Catholic College
- Mary Vlachos Overnewton Anglican Community College
- Anita Voloshin McKinnon Secondary College
- Nathan Burns Lalor Secondary College
- Spencer Glenfield Albert Park College
- Jock Maddern Kaniva College
- Christian Santoro St Bernard's College
- Tate Tregea-Copeland Mercy Regional College
- Kevin Yu Huntingtower School

### **Teacher Chaperones:**

- Mr Justin Gillett Flinders Community Christian College
- Mr David Mitri Lara Secondary College
- Ms Kym Hardeman Star of the Sea College
- Mr Clinton Markwell St Michael's Grammar School
- Ms Laura Robertson Trafalgar High School

#### Canberra Tour winners:

- Jaylan Chaaban Lalor Secondary College
- Phoebe Chen Huntingtower School
- Alanna Chew Lee Camberwell Girls' Grammar School
- Roni Corby Bairnsdale Secondary College
- Tia Hagland Ringwood Secondary College
- Sasho Lumakovski Lalor Secondary College
- Amy McIntyre Lake Bolac College
- Jessica Nourse Beechworth Secondary College
- Elise Rodrigo Huntingtower School
- Jacinta Speer Mac.Robertson Girls' High School
- Alexandra Tatham Ballarat Grammar
- Jake Taylor Pakenham Secondary College
- Mun Joon Teo Huntingtower School
- Isabel Unwin Ballarat Grammar
- Chloe Watters Pakenham Secondary College
- Olivia Butler Pakenham Secondary College
- Lily van Berkel St Paul's Anglican Grammar School
- Christine Lam Lalor Secondary College
- Jack van Styn Caulfield Grammar School
- Emily Bassett Kyabram P 12 College