2015 AGM Minutes Sunday 26 July 2015

MEETING OPENS: 1100

<u>ODE:</u> By Senior Vice President: 11 members have crossed the bar since the 2014 AGM: **ALLAN BADDELEY**, PAUL BYDEN, DON HORNE, LYNDON LE DAN, ALAN GUTHRIE LES JORDAN, DICKIE RADCLIFFE, STAN RILEY, JACK SLOPER, RUPERT SULLIVAN and ROBERT WARR.

ATTENDANCE: 37 Members and 5 Visitors. (as per attached sheet)

<u>APOLOGIES:</u> 1. Vern Bechaz, Ron Bowkett, Ian McLure, Pop Pearson, James Marrs, David Ryan, John Batt, Phil Ashman, B. Hathaway, B & K Scott, D Fairbairn, J Ferguson, P. Woodcraft – Lee, Max Hopkins, Jens Braun Moved: R. May Seconded S. Oversby. Carried

MINUTES 2013 AGM: Distributed, Moved D Dwyer & Seconded L Pegler Carried.

BUSINESS ARISING:. Nil

CORRESPONDENCE IN & OUT: Nil

LIFE MEMBERSHIP & Honorary Membership:

- 1.Moved D Dwyer Laurie Pegler be granted Life membership Seconded J Bobrowski , Carried.
- 2. Moved J Carroll Rosmary Creswell be awarded Honorary Membership, Seconded .D Dwyer. Carried

PRESIDENT'S REPORT: Reported attending Shipp Division passing out on three occasions, his involvement with the Vietnam Veterans Education Unit, work done on attempting to have certain SOPS reviewed and changed, then read remainder of his report (see attached).

SV PRESIDENT'S REPORT INCLUDNG THE GFL: Spoke on the editions of the GFL and will attempt to have five GFL editions per year. Next GFL will be sent out August 2015 and appealed for the members to send him topics to print. Lead Association with Patron 2015 ANZAC Day, Spoke at length on the importance of our interaction with the South Vietnamese veterans Community. Read the remainder of his report (see attached).

<u>V PRESIDENT`S REPORT:</u> Spoke at length on his attempts to have the awarding of the SV Campaign medal awarded to Logistical Sailors, then read remainder of his report. (see attached)

SECRETARY'S REPORT, including Membership and Marketing:

1. Currently 410 active members (a gain of 9 members) and 212 non active members, 11 Deceased members. 2014 – 2015. 2. Marketing has been strong again this year 3. Dinner Dance a success (56 attended), made a loss as (\$1700.00) we had to pay for 75 seats.. 4. Renovating Chelsea RSL and our SYDNEY Room exhibits, will be moved to the SYDNEY Room in CERBERUS. Marty Grogan is setting up the room and the H.M.A.S. SYDNEY 1935-1942 Banner, which is no longer suitable to parade on ANZAC Day will be laid up in the SYDNEY Room. The consensus of opinion from the survey conducted, is that when the time comes, all the exhibits will be signed over to the RAN Maritime Museum. 5. Social activities curtailed this year, next is Cup Day Tuesday, 3rd of November then the children's XMAS Party, Sunday, 29 November. Secretary gave an update on the Naval Ball to be held Sat 17 October 2015 at the Flemington Race Course. 6. Thanked out going Treasurer Steve Mika, Members Mary and Bruce Trappett, Kerry Scott, Tina Abbott, Bill Furey, Vice President, also Mark Kinder for making himself available for our functions all year.

<u>TREASURER'S FINANCIAL REPORT DISTRIBUTED</u> (see attached): Steve Mika, moved that the report be accepted. Seconded S. Oversby. There being no questions, the report was carried (see attached).

<u>MEMBERS REPORT:</u> G. Taylor Discussed re his attendance at the annual inspection at TS TINGIRA, TS VOYAGER, RAAF Cadet unit and Shipp Division pass out Parade, then read the remainder of his report (see attached).

GENERAL BUSINESS:

1. Moved D. Dwyer, Seconded L Pegler, Carried: Treasurer elect Carl Sorensen be placed on the Association Bank, account as signatory and current Treasurer Steve Mika remain as a signatory. **2**.SVP & Secretary brought to the attention of the Members, Club Annual Dinner Sunday 22 August @ \$55.00 per head..

Being No further Business, the President declared all positions vacant and handed the chair to the returning Officer, Rhonda Burrowes.

Returning Officer announced the following:

There being an equal number of nominees for an equal number of vacant Committee positions the following are elected under Rule 31 (3) of the constitution:

President: John Carroll

Senior Vice President: Lee Andrews

Vice President: Fred McLeod-Dryden

Secretary: David Dwyer

Treasurer: Carl Sorensen

Ordinary Committee Men: Ron Bowkett, Bruce Trappett,, Gary Taylor.

Returning Officer declared the Election closed and returned Chair to 205-2016 President.

President declared Meeting Closed. 1230

Hands to lunch and the Bar is open

President	Date	2016	Secretary	,